Board of Directors

Our board of Directors?

Gerard Kraakman


Mike Rowe

Vice President

Helen Janes


Hamish Masson


Phil Aspinall

Fundraising Director

Nick Cunha

Marketing Director

Tom Means

Tortola Crew Representative

Tony Syrett

Tortola Action Representative

Simon Fox

Virgin Gorda Crew Representative

Lars Giersing

Virgin Gorda Action Representative

A nominating committee is appointed each year to choose a Board of Directors. Votes are tallied and announcements made at the annual general meeting. Members are typically chosen based on their ability to offer diversity in the Board to promote creative thinking and innovative resourcing. The responsibilities/roles of the elected Board include, leadership skills, integrity and the competency required to direct and oversee the management in the best interests of the organization, the members and employee. Members must be willing to attend regular Board of Directors meetings to contribute his/her time and knowledge to the organization and be prepared to exercise his or her duties with skill and care. In addition, each candidate should have an understanding of all governance concepts. The goals of the Board are to maintain the highest standards within the group of volunteers and crew, concentrate on advanced training, community outreach, fundraising and policy development. We also have honorary position on the board for the past president. In this seat now is our past president Phil Aspinall. Phil has been a VISAR volunteer since 1994 and was the president of the board of directors for 12 years and brings a great deal of knowledge of VISAR's operations and history with him.

Total shouts in 2014


2014 a year of Distress